Use Promo Code Randy for 20% off OutdoorClass

Q: "You know what this place needs?" A: "A good fire."

COEngineer

I have been hunting, hiking, and backpacking all over CO with my family for 20+ years now and almost everywhere I go (mostly USFS land) I see huge landscapes of decadent growth and/or beetle-killed forests. I always ask my kids, "You know what this place needs?" and the programmed response is, "A good fire."

Most of these places are going to burn anyway, why not do it in a (somewhat) controlled manner? Or at least at a time of year when the fire is unlikely to burn for months.

What is the best way to advocate for more of them? Is RMEF the biggest proponent of prescribed fire? Am I missing the mark and there is a better alternative to fire?

I say the same thing to myself often, and when the country south of my house burned last summer it was probably the best thing that could happen for it. I’m not an expert, but my oversimplified take after talking to quite a few folks about it:

It is easier said than done. It is easier said than paid for. It is easier said than not getting sued for . Large scale controlled burning is not easy.

Doesn’t mean we shouldn’t push for and advocate for it. I think it was Stephen Pyne (could be wrong) Who said, “Either we learn to use and live with fire, or fire will control us. Either way fire is in our future.” Wasn’t exactly that but something like it

Where I hunt in Colorado there is so much fuel on the forest floor that it will burn hot enough to scorch the ground for a long time ... if it ever starts
I wonder if burning smallish areas in the winter would help this? Perhaps the snow and cold would prevent a massive moonscape type burn and instead help the environment with a moderate burn

I wonder if burning smallish areas in the winter would help this? Perhaps the snow and cold would prevent a massive moonscape type burn and instead help the environment with a moderate burn