Yeti GOBOX Collection

New to Elk & Forum

SPDSpappy

I've been interested in elk hunting, but didn't know about the opportunities through DIY public land hunting until some friends in a hunting FB group pointed me to Randy Newberg. I just started hunting 5 years ago after my son took an interest (see attached article from a magazine about our story and my son's first turkey). I live near St. Louis & currently hunt whitetail deer, turkey, upland birds, waterfowl, and went to Scotland to hunt red stag this past September (it was cheaper including the plane tickets than hunting IL whitetail through an outfitter believe it or not!). I've finished going through all Randy's videos in his elk hunting YouTube video list and am making my way through all the rest of the Fresh Tracks & OYOA videos. I'm hoping to go on a CO elk hunt in 2018 and joined this forum to get more educated on the subject.

A little more about me, I'm a computer engineer and work for the Department of Defense. My wife wears an Air Force uniform and is the reason we ended up in the St. Louis area. We have 2 children, a 12 y/o son and a 9 y/o daughter. I'm big into scouting and am the local Boy Scout district membership chair and an assistant scoutmaster for a troop. My son went to Jamboree 2017 this past summer.

View attachment First Youth Turkey Season.pdfHeartland Outdoors Jacob's turkey.jpg

Welcome from Wyoming! Addicting & Cushman, I was waiting to see what you two had planned, I thought for sure you guys were going to unleash some Air Force jokes!

I’ve stayed on 2 Air Force bases. The accommodations, food, and equipment is top notch. I am generally jealous of how you all get treated. Then I remember how many lower back injuries are claimed each year at the VA from constantly sitting in cushy chairs and I snap back to reality.

But the OP married one of those hot Air Force chicks so he is cool in my book!