New Northern California Hunter

FloatDogg

Hello All!

I am new to hunting. I recently purchased my first rifle a .308 AB3 Browning. I am finally able to pick it up this weekend and I plan to mount a 3x-9 scope on it. I recently completed my hunter education course and I am now able to purchase tags. I am in Northern California SF Bay area. The south bay specifically. I was curious if anyone here has any input on if I should purchase a B zone tag or an A zone tag. I am going to be doing public land hunting and I can't decide between the two. Any suggestions on what zone would be best for a new hunter? I was hoping to get a C zone tag as I have a friend up there but it seems like those go fast. Any advice is GREATLY appreciated. I am ready for a life of hunting.

Head north,plenty of public land.Up past Mendicino county.
North of the Russian river. 😎

A buddy of mine just called me today. He bought 40 acres of remote vineyard land around willets (northern Mendocino county). I told him that I’ll have to look into the blacktail hunting. Sounds like he may have found a nice little gem.

Looks like beautiful country out there. Not sure how the tag purchasing process is though..

A buddy of mine just called me today. He bought 40 acres of remote vineyard land around willets (northern Mendocino county). I told him that I’ll have to look into the blacktail hunting. Sounds like he may have found a nice little gem.

Looks like beautiful country out there. Not sure how the tag purchasing process is though..

They might have wild pigs there, too. The season is open all year. They tend to stay on private property. Getting access to private land in CA is next to impossible. Too many screwballs running around there and it's hard to trust anybody.