New archery hunter ?'s

RyeGuy74

I'm looking at buying a bow but since I am new to this, I just need some advice. Should I buy a cheaper bow and look at upgrading in a few years or should I just get a top-of-the-line bow now so that I'll have a fancy piece of equipment for a long time?

I totally agree. Archery equipment takes a beating on used value. I have had great luck buying good used bows as dave and p ham mentioned. I didnt clearly speak. I would not a flagship bow for a beginner. I would recomend buying a used bow from a reputable bow shop if you aren't experienced with archery equipment.

And to weigh in on the above good comments, if you are new to archery, you really do need to go to a reputable bow shop and get the basics down. Any reputable shop will have quality used bows on-hand which you can try right there before buying. Also, if you've not been measured for your draw length, that is critical when purchasing any bow and the shop can measure you. A lot of good info can be gleaned from a good shop.

Agreed, spend time at a reputable bore shop and let them get you squared away in regards to sizing and comfort. A good used bow will more than suffice. I would take the money saved and put it towards a set up for building your own arrows.

A used bow from a reputable bow dealer is a option. Be aware of string and cable condition. You are looking at additional money if they need replaced which with the price of a used bow + string and cable replacement you will be in the price range of a new middle line bow.