Ollin Magnetic Digiscoping System

MT upland opener reports

Hunting Wife

The grouse opener has become one of my most highly anticipated days of the year. These midweek openers are a pain, but I go after work because hey, I waited all year for this!

Given the extreme drought in NE Montana, I expected to see fewer birds, but unfortunately my expectations were exceeded. Three hours of walking a normally very productive spot produced just one sharpie. The fewest birds I’ve ever put up on opener. Anybody else have better luck in sharptail country?

D9897998-2FBE-4A0B-99E5-F556FAF7259B.jpeg

I'm new to the grouse game, and only got one mountain grouse today, and it just so happened to be my first since moving to Montana. I saw upwards to 20 more grouse while I was out, and a few whitetails, too. I've got the rest of the week off from work, hoping to add a few more to the pile.

20210901_160316.jpg

Nice! I desperately wanted today off, but duty called. I have the next two days off. Blues tomorrow, sharpies and huns Friday. Sounds like it could be a rough year. Keep the updates coming!
Hopefully you’ve had better veg growth where you’re headed. The ungrazed brome is all of 4” tall where I was today. I’m not sure if the hatch was poor, or brood survival was poor. But even out working, I’m only seeing singles and doubles. Never a good sign.

There are certainly plenty of grasshoppers for raising chicks, if you can find places eggs and broods survived the heat and dessication. Good luck!

Quite a few Huns around our place. Not seeing the grouse we usually see. And it was pretty chilly last night so it seems like we went from tons of doves to just a scatter here and there.

Gad, there were so many sharptails last year. They were everywhere on the hi-line. Big clouds of them. Hard to believe they could all disappear. But it was a nasty winter for sure.