Caribou Gear

IMR 4166

Redmt

I picked up 8# of IMR 4166 because it was available and a decent price! It claims to be a good substitute for Varget but I'm not finding much in load info in a 40gr. Varmageddon, only down to a 55gr. bullet. Can anybody suggest a starting load for the 40gr. FB bullet for the .223? While I have been reloading for quite a few years, I've never been much for experimenting outside published loads.
I'm also hoping to use it for 6.5 CM, .308 and .300 Win Mag If anyone can offer some help there also.

For .308 150 gr bullet use 43 to 48 gr IMR 4166. That's direct from the Hodgon website.

Seems that Varget or 4166, if they are that similar, would be too slow for a bullet that light in that cartridge. Varget is 4064 burn speed, which is on the border between fast and medium burn rates. In other words, it’s slow for a fast burn rate powder, and fast for a medium burn rate powder. Too bulky to get enough in the case

Using Hodgdon's online Reloading Data Center I find IMR 4166 listed as an appropriate powder for several 223 loads, from 50 grains bullets all the way up to 90 grain bullets. I do not see it listed for 40 grain bullets. So, I'd use it for loads listed by Hodgdon.

For your other rifles, 6.5 CM, 308, and 300 Win mag - I'd also recommend you stick with published loads.

I've been doing some loading with these newer IMR "enduron" powders and I like them, but I haven't use IMR 4166 yet.

Regards, Guy

In case you haven't used it before, the Hodgon online reloading data allows you to select cartridge, powder, and bullet weight and then provides various recipes in grains that yield corresponding velocity values, minimum to maximum recommended. I think Hodgon leans towards conservative on their maximums. I load IMR 4350 for my 30-06 and their maximum recommended powder charge is slightly less than what I'm seeing universally posted on various forums as the "standard."