Idaho Unit 4

Espn3_dc33

Hello I was just wondering if anyone had any advice for hunting unit 4 in Idaho? This is my first time going to Idaho for a hunt and the first time to this area. What I was thinking is hunting the CDL national forest November 1-5th. I can hunt mule or white tail. I would appreciate any input and advice if anyone would like to share. Thank you all for your time and have a good season.

Welcome to HuntTalk. We say CDA rather that than "CDL". We say "Spo-Can", not "Spo-Cane". There are people that will take notes on that.

Make sure your tag says "Regular Deer" on it if you plan to target mule deer in unit 4 that week. Otherwise it's a whitetail only hunt.
Plan for wet snow conditions and travel. You will see 98 percent whitetails. There are grizzly bears in parts of the unit.

This is a pre-rut time frame. When the snow hits the tops, the does will move down to the creek bottoms first. The bucks will drop down last. If there is no snow they will all be higher.
You will find scrapes on some ridgelines. They will not be working them too hard yet, but its a good place to start. Look for rubbed trees as well.

Have a way to get out of the wet and dry your gear. It will be wet. This is thick country. I highly recommend waterproof or goretex boot and gaiters. Bring quality rain gear as well.

There will likely be logging operations going on in the unit even in November. Watch for log trucks on the roads.