Sitka Gear Turkey Tool Belt

Hunting deer Illinois

Ben_BlueOx

Hi all,

Is there anyone from Illinois (I’m located in the North, 40mins from Illinois/Wisconsin border) that plans to get out deer hunting.

I’m new to hunting, so would be really interested to tag along on scouting days and pick your brains and maybe tag along for the Hunt day too. Would just want to be an extra set of eyes who has their ears open.

thanks.

No help. Like probably most of us here, I hunt on private property. There is some state ground around to hunt but I don't use it. Good luck finding a partner!

Here are the best ways to pick people's brain that are really goof at hunting. Read these and you will gain more solid knowledge than any one person will be willing to give you in 2 days.

"Mapping Trophy Bucks" by Brad Hendon. Get on a site like CalTop, Hillmap.com, or OnX maps and practice identifying those features in various terrain.

"Bowhunting Whitetails the Eberhart Way" and "Precision Bowhunting" John Eberhart. I personally think his fanaticism with Scent Lok is garbage. But nobody can argue with his tactics and success. But those books are a wealth of information.

"Rubline Secrets" and "Bowhunting Forests and Big Woods" by Greg Miller.

I highly reccomend purchasing and watching Dan Infalt videos. Wealth of knowledge there. Tie all those resources together and being in Illinois, you will be well on your way to becoming a proficient hunter in a very short amount of time
Between all those resources. You will put more together in the first two years of hunting on your own, than spending two days with anyone. One last thing. Don't buy into the product hype of bows. My 1993 PSE Thunderflite Express, Aluminum arrow, and fixed blade broadhead killed deer in 1996 thru 2007. My 2008 PSE still kills deer. Welcome to the hunting community. Need any other help. PM me. I am happy to help.