How careful are you?

Calif. Hunter

I was browsing another forum, and I read a post about a guy that was very upset. He had been bow hunting, in full camo and paint. He was sneaking up on a hog, was about 40 yards from it and then a jeep came over a hill 300 yards away (his statement) and the guys started blasting away with rifles without glassing to see if another hunter was in the area. He felt like they should have examined the area with binoculars before shooting.
What do you think?

I have to say that I have never glassed the hillside to see if another hunter was close the animal I was going to shoot at. Now, I don't hunt crowded public land, either, but this was on a large private ranch that charges a trespass fee. I would certainly glass to make sure that it was a game animal before I started shooting, and I would take a 300 yard shot on a standing hog if I could lie down or get a good rest.

I think this guy should have been wearing some orange - even if it was an 8-inch square on his back.

Cali

Thats a good point.

Sometimes even if they glassed they wouldnt see the guy so what would be the point?

If I see an animal that I am hunting I am going to shoot it, of course if I see someone else close to I wont but if I cant see you then I dont know what to tell you. I bow hunt and I always thought about taht as well however I am just hoping someone hits what they aim at and can tell the difference between a human and a animal.
I also hunt with a rifle in full came so I am accepting the risk I take in doing this.

Delw

I always try to be aware of where I am and who might be there also. I have passed on chances to take a shot because there was a slight chance that something else might be done as a result.

I rather be safe than sorry.