Goose silhouettes

R.K.

They work.

PXL_20201004_005319439.jpg

Dad came out to visit, and I was able to get permission on a cut silage field for opening day. We found a small line of weeds in the field, and picked the densest part of it to hide the layouts in between.

42 silos, and we got plenty of shooting in- I'm kinda new to chasing geese (only killed two Canadas before this hunt), so this was an absolute riot. Gotta love young, dumb birds. Now to figure out what to do with 8 geese...

Silos are awesome. I make my own, and deploy about 100 when I hunt. I hunt several states and Canada for geese. Start skinning !! Congratulations on the hunt and spending time with your Dad !!

I bone breast and thighs and have meat made into sausage and pepperettes at the end of the year. Drumsticks are saved in ziplock bags and eventually boned and canned for dogfood.

Corned goose is good. If theyre young birds, marinate and grill em. Mix the tough old birds with pig and make sausage. Congrats!!!

I currently have plans for pastrami, jerky, fajitas, steak au poivre, etc. But I really want to do the pastrami- just need to find a friend with a smoker, then vacuum seal and freeze.

Going to braise the legs, thinking in something with tomato, or maybe more like a chile Colorado.

I currently have plans for pastrami, jerky, fajitas, steak au poivre, etc. But I really want to do the pastrami- just need to find a friend with a smoker, then vacuum seal and freeze.

Going to braise the legs, thinking in something with tomato, or maybe more like a chile Colorado.
Sounds like a good excuse to get a smoker.....

Update- medium rare "steak" au poivre is fantastic. Skinless breasts are pretty lean with long muscle fibers, so I treated it like a sirloin. Best to cut across the grain (which runs the full width of the breast) after cooking/resting. I imagine a sous vide and reverse sear would be perfect for these.