From Behind Enemy Lines (CA)

pcole916

Hi everyone, this is my first post....fairly new gun owner (1.5 years)...but hit the range pretty often and am comfortable to about 200-300 yards. I would like to start hunting but being that I'm new to the sport I have zero idea what zone(s) would be best in Northern California. I bought a tag last year, but it went unused because I didn't have anyone to go with so I could learn how to field dress. So I've been left with watching TV shows, YouTube videos, etc....and hoping to be able to go out this season. So I guess my only question right now is does anyone know any good zones in Northern CA for deer? And shout out to Randy Newberg and the show Fresh Tracks....I've learned alot just from binge watching the first 4 seasons and wouldn't have known about this website without that show.

Thanks,

Pete

Welcome! I don't have any advice for hunting CA but you you can have a pretty good idea of what to do when field dressing by watching videos and reading how-to articles. Should prepare you enough for when you harvest an animal.

Welcome.
I assume from the 916 that is your area code. I live about an hour north of Sacramento and I hunt a few different areas in the northern part of the state. Since the drawing is done you can only buy tags for areas that are over the counter. Still a lot of areas but no premium zones. I will send you a private message to discuss particular areas. We actually are successful hunting zones like D3-5, B and A. VERY CROWDED but once you learn an area you have a chance.

Welcome to the forum Pete! I'm sorry I don't have any experience hunting CA, but I've been impressed with some of the photos I've seen here on HT of CA critters.

Big black tails in CA. Just post on here you’re looking for a mentor in N. Cali. Bienvenido comps.