Ollin Magnetic Digiscoping System

First timer diy caribou

irf1983

I have finally pulled my finger out and I am starting to plan a DIY caribou hunt in Alaska. All I know so far is that I want to go in 2020 and I am leaning towards 40 mile air. I don't have a lot of camping gear so preferably I would like to rent tents/cookware, etc. I would really appreciate any suggestions on air service/gear rental/what to expect/meat care/everything else regarding this kind of hunt. I've never done anything like this before so any help would be great. Thanks in advance!

There are a bunch of guys on here that can provide you with some good info, going the fully equipped and transported route is going to be pricey. I'm doing my first caribou hunt in august and we are doing it about as cheap as you possibly can for a NonRes it's going to be around $1000. I would guess you are looking at 6k or so to get it done this route. Also are you trying to do this solo? Every transporter I have talked to has been extremely apprehensive about dropping someone solo, not to say they won't do it but they will want to make sure you can handle it by yourself, I contacted 40 mile and was told if I wanted to do a solo trip I needed to convince Leif I was prepared... and not having hunting in AK before or having gear definitely wouldn't be starting off that conversation on the right foot.

Last edited:
I did a fly out caribou hunt 15 years ago. Was a really cool experience, tons of animals. We went on the opening day in early Aug.