Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

Excersizes for a wimpy arm

JohnSWA

Senior Thread Mover
Hi folks. I just bought a very nice used bow from our pal Joe C! I've been wanting to hunt archery for years, but couldn't see spending the major $$ for a starter bow.

Here's my question. My wimpy @ss arms can't draw 60 lbs! :eek: Can anybody recommend what type of exercize specifically for draw pull ie weights, etc? This wuss would sure appreciate it! :eek:

I would recommend cranking this bow down to lowest (safest) draw weight and work your way up. If this is not an option, I think Cabelas has a rubberband type drawing system to stay in shape.

Bow exercize

Thanks Mtmiller! Like I said, I'm new to this stick flinging thing, so I have to learn all I can about adjusting draw weight and everything else that has to do with this sport! I love learning something new about hunting!!!

To shoot a bow you integrate both pushing and pulling muscles. So any type of pushing excersises; Pushups, tricept extentions, benchpress etc. For pulling movements do upright rows, bent over dumbell laterals pull ups too.

The Bowfit that mtmiller posted a link to works great. When I first got into archery I could barely shoot my bow three times at 60 pounds. After using that thing for about two minutes a night I had my bow cranked up to about 65 pounds and I can easily shoot that now and might even consider cranking it up to around 67-68 by the time archery season rolls around. Best of luck with whatever you decide but definately check out the Bowfit!

I just got back from the local archery shop and got it turned down to 53lbs. It feels good! At least it's a good place to start. I'm adding a whisker biscuit, adjusting the peep site and getting her tuned. The guy there said that my bow is in really good shape and I can't wait to start practicing!

Thanks for the advice and I'm sure I'll be back for more. I can't wait for Bow Season!!