Yeti GOBOX Collection

Drew an Elk MZ tag... now what?

coleslaw

So against all odds (about 4% draw odds) I drew an Arizona bull tag for a November muzzleloader hunt. Of course I'm still in disbelief; winning lotteries and raffles is something that just doesn't happen to guys like me lol.
I'm not new to elk hunting and have been successful with a rifle, but I am new to doing it with a MZ. And yes, I have taken whitetails with a MZ before, but it's just not something I gave much thought about beyond going to the store and buying whatever powder and bullet combo I could find. It's supposed to be a no- brainer anyways, right? Stuff it down the tube and shoot, but not if your target is over 100 yards. At least that used to be the traditional way of thinking, even with in-line MZ's.

Then a few years ago my brother in law started practicing out to 200 plus yards. I thought it was impressive enough. Then last year a mutual friend drew a New Mexico MZ elk tag. He had a Remington Ultimate MZ and was practicing out to 500 yards. I had never heard of such a thing, so instead of asking a dumb question, I googled it lol. It appears with all the long range crazes in today's shooting world that muzzleloaders are no exception.

I am a somewhat experienced reloader, and shoot a fairly high volume of reloads (apparently not this year though). But being a reloader already has my head spinning with bullet, sabot and powder combinations to test before this year's hunt and I fear I am falling down the rabbit hole with excitement.