Black Gold sight - stock mount or dovetail?

lifesupport4u

I am new to archery.

I bought a used bow that has an older black gold ascent verdict sight on a 6" dovetail. I am replacing it with a new Verdict Assault.

So I have the option to use the stock mount or the used dovetail mount... not sure what will be better for me going forward?

Thanks for the advice.

Last edited:
If you are getting rid of the ascent shoot me a message. But if it were me I'd run the dovetail. It gives you more options as far as peep sizes because you can fine tune a peep to your sight with variable distances on the dovetail. and the closer you run your sight the smaller your pin gap and the more distance you get out of your slider. But farther out will show more bow torque and more pin movement but if form is great you are able to be more accurate with a sight farther from the bow. And last you can quickly remove the sight for storage or travel and put it back in the same spot. But either will work for you honestly.

If you are getting rid of the ascent shoot me a message. But if it were me I'd run the dovetail. It gives you more options as far as peep sizes because you can fine tune a peep to your sight with variable distances on the dovetail. and the closer you run your sight the smaller your pin gap and the more distance you get out of your slider. But farther out will show more bow torque and more pin movement but if form is great you are able to be more accurate with a sight farther from the bow. And last you can quickly remove the sight for storage or travel and put it back in the same spot. But either will work for you honestly.

That’s how I am leaning. I am going to sell it. I’ll shoot you a PM in the next few days. It’s a 5 pin. Works great- just older version. Has a little bit of wear.

That’s how I am leaning. I am going to sell it. I’ll shoot you a PM in the next few days. It’s a 5 pin. Works great- just older version. Has a little bit of wear.