Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

150 grain Hornady GMX for 7mm-08

MThunter398

I just worked up a great shooting load for my 7mm-08 with some 150-grain GMXs. They are going 2790 fps, which gets me to 2100 fps and 1500 ftlb at 400 yards. I am hoping to use this load for deer and elk this fall to replace the 162-grain eldx. I had been using the eldx for two years and I am not impressed with their performance. I know that a lighter copper bullet going faster is highly recommended but wanted to give the GMX a shot given the speed I'm pushing. I'm curious about people's thoughts, and any opinion on the GMX bullet in general.

Side note, I plan on trying some lighter Hammer bullets in the future also.

Sounds like a great load. What powder are you using? I'm getting similar velocities with the 150gr E-Tips over 45.8gr of H4350.

As for the GMX bullets themselves, my buddy uses the 120gr GMX in his 6.5cr and so far we've gotten to inspect the damage on a 250-ish-lb sow black bear at 410yds, a muley buck at 350yds, and a cow elk at 150yds. All three were down within 50 yards with clean exit wounds and plenty of disruption in the vitals.

Your only concern at 400yds with that load should be the wind. The GMX will do it's job if you get it on target. GOOD LUCK!

Sounds like a great load. What powder are you using? I'm getting similar velocities with the 150gr E-Tips over 45.8gr of H4350.

As for the GMX bullets themselves, my buddy uses the 120gr GMX in his 6.5cr and so far we've gotten to inspect the damage on a 250-ish-lb sow black bear at 410yds, a muley buck at 350yds, and a cow elk at 150yds. All three were down within 50 yards with clean exit wounds and plenty of disruption in the vitals.

Your only concern at 400yds with that load should be the wind. The GMX will do it's job if you get it on target. GOOD LUCK!
Thanks! I'm using 44.9gr of Win760