What’s your moment?

Walking in on a cold morning to a stand I’m positive I will see a deer in. The feel of a cold morning in the woods twenty five feet up a tree waiting on a deer to come by, but most importantly sharing a hunt with my daughter, and finally
the most anticipated hunt I’ve been on in my life….our first ever elk hunt!

I'm a midwest whitetail stand hunter, so my moments aren't as epic as some of you out west (although I've had some great western hunts/experiences). However, there are two moments I look forward to every season. The first is the first sit. Doesn't matter when/where it is when I climb into the stand and get setup for the first bow hunt of the year. I don't care if I see a deer on my first sit.

The second is the first cold morning of rut hunting (late October/early November). Sitting on stand straining my eyes trying to see through the dark and just knowing today is the day a lovestruck giant is going to come cruising through.

I think every moment outside is a God Send. I'm not a Summer Guy. In fact I kind of dread it, I get through because I know Fall is just around the I'm a Fall time of year dude.

Whatever your passion is, The first flight of birds, on opening day, the first bugle you get back, that first spike buck running under your stand, the first time your kid(s) is/ are with you it doesn't matter, it's your time.
I know I think about it every time I go out for the first time that new season. I'm part of a family that stretches the world and others are doing the same thing I am today. And then I stop and I look to the top of the mountain ridge and think. If I had permit I could shoot that bull. The second thought after that is, Well that's hunting....