MTNTOUGH - Use promo code RANDY for 30 days free

Stuck Case - RCBS Removal Tool

BRI

I've been reloading for about 10 years now so by no means would I consider myself an expert. Thankfully I've only had 5 stuck cases in the couple thousand rounds and several cartridges I've run through. I have one of the RCBS stuck case removal tools but it's only worked one time. I've watched the videos, put the die in the freezer, used kroil, etc. yet still I have no confidence in it working. 3 times previously, I'd just thrown the die away and bought a new. Well this time, I contacted RCBS and they said to send the die in and they'd remove the case, polish and inspect the die and send back to me as part of warranty. Now I feel stupid for throwing the other ones away. 🤦‍♂️ 😂

Do those stuck case removal tools work for you? What's your go to method (besides not get one stuck....thanks captain obvious). I'm sure it'll happen again.

One thing I've noticed. After sizing a quantity of cases, I usually clean my sizing die. The first resized case after that tends to come out of the die harder than subsequent cases so that might be where it's likely to get a stuck case. Use more lube [I like resizing wax] on that first case. Since I don't keep the expander ball in it, the couple times I've had one I tap it out with a bolt and hammer. Last lime I actually bent a bolt during the process. When you try to pull the case back out, the case rim gives and the case is ripped out of the shellholder.

PrgfX1z.jpg

i've threaded the brass and used slightly larger nuts to tighten a bolt against. It's basically the RCBS tool but with junk I had on hand. It worked but not as well as something that fits exactly on the die. Sneaking in kroil first is probably a wise choice.