Caribou Gear Tarp

New to Forum and new to Pronghorns

griffon_49

Ok...I am a teacher/Coach in MO and have finally saved up enough to head out west on a DIY pronghorn trip. I have a few questions to toss out to you guys so here goes (thanks in advance):

1: Do you know any landowners who offer trespass fee's? Where would I start looking?
2: Should my first hunt be rifle or bow (I shoot both fairly well)
3: Is it better to hunt a unit with a draw or find one with OTC tags
4: Best dates for going
5: What caliber gun do you recommend since the terrain is different than back home?

I'm still a rookie to western hunting but I have been on two antelope hunts now so I'll try to answer your questions.

1. Not sure on trespass fee's. Take a look at the resource page and click the state you want to hunt. (I recommend Wyoming for lopes)

2. I did archery my first year, it was fun trying to spot and stalk these critters but the closest opportunity I had was 70 yards. Water hole sitting sucks donkey butt if you ask me. This year I went with the rifle and shot a decent buck (great for me) at about 55 yards or so :) - I'd do rifle first

3. Both times I have banked Antelope points and bought leftover tags. Still plenty of lopes (Check out the HMA's)

4. For rifle I went the first week, seems to be plenty of lopes if you wait till the second week with less hunters. Archery you want to try to hit the rut which is a small window for lopes from what I understand.

5. I used a .270 and another buddy used a .243.

Hope this helps a little.

1: There's plenty enough public ground available that you don't need to worry about tresspass fees. Especially with walk in areas.

2: If you go to Wyoming you can do both. Try it in Archery season and if you strike out, go back with your rifle...nice thing about Wyoming

3: Colorado has OTC archery tags, but Wyoming is draww, but you can usually find leftover tags for alot of units