Near death

1oldcoyote

Circa Fall; 1983. I was a career city firefighter. I helped fight a business fire one fall day in my home town. Capt's truck responded to the store front on main st. Lt & I responded around back in an ally. We seen heavy black smoke wafting up around a below ground stair well wooden door. We entered masked up, wearing 50 lbs of firefighting gear including/air pack.

I was on the nozzle, LT right behind me. I felt the door with the back of my bare hand, it was warm. I booted open the door & in we went. Smoke was heavy black. We were stooped over as we advanced. About 30' into the basement. Suddenly my low pressure hose became detached from my air pack regulator. It came un-screwed from my air pack harness unknown to me vs tore away. In the heavy block smoke I thought my air hose tore apart. I needed to exit asap. So my Lt advanced up & took the nozzle.

Quickly I held our hose line as I exited towards the basement door. I needed air bad. I forgot how low the door header beam was (I'm 6' 3") I struck the top of my head so hard. It knocked me to my knees & knocked the wind out of me. After the impact, I gasped to take a breath. So I inhaled a gulp of thick black smoke. Which caused me to start coughing, choking hard. I laid on my R-side gasping & choking. I was so overcome with choking to death. As I tried to crawl up the steep stairwell to fresh air. I couldn't do it, choking overcame me. I thought this is where I die as consciousness was leaving me.

A wave of total terror flowed over me from crown to foot. Immediately followed by a wave of warm calming peace. As I finally let go of Life. My soul went to an all grey area. I could think & reason, but I was not in my earthly body. I knew I had died & wondered where I was. Why am I seeing all "grey?". Am I in "Heaven?" Where am I?