Idaho OTC archery tag

chasers1085

Hello all,
I'm new to Hunt Talk so I hope i'm doing this correctly. My friend and I are from Utah and Colorado and are wanting to experience a bow hunt of elk in a state that neither of us have hunted. We are going to try for a sawtooth tag, (if they don't sell out in 30 sec). If we are able to get a sawtooth tag, would anyone be willing to give some guidance as far as where to scout, and if we can't get the tag, what would be another good OTC unit with lot's of country and good numbers of elk? We aren't going after trophy elk, anything with horns would be awesome and just want a fun experience. Thanks in advance.

Saw tooth tags are a quota tag If I remember correctly so the chance 2 non res can both get maybe slim due to 10% of tags go to non res Im going back to Idaho in 2020 on a dyi theirs a lot of great info on the state web site and everyone in the regional offices are great and can give you a lot of good information

Saw tooth tags are a quota tag If I remember correctly so the chance 2 non res can both get maybe slim due to 10% of tags go to non res Im going back to Idaho in 2020 on a dyi theirs a lot of great info on the state web site and everyone in the regional offices are great and can give you a lot of good information

This ^

You can and should do your own research. These are good sources that are listed. With how busy Idaho and other Western states are, you don't want a bunch of unit information shared on the interwebs!

That is good info, thanks! Yeah, chances of us both getting them are slim but we’re gonna try. I’ll give them a call about other areas. Thanks!

Many zones are hunting really well for elk the past 5 years. Many zones also over objective. Pick a zone with plenty of public, research the hell out of it and go.
Good advice. Thanks for taking time to reply. Good luck this year!

If you are interested in the Sawtooth tag then May 10th is your day.