Elk hunting Idaho Question

FishForSmallies

I have never been elk hunting before, but just got back from a visiting a sister in Idaho and now I feel the need to hunt some of that beautiful country one time in my life.

I had the chance to see some of the area around Riggins and up past Grangeville. Loved it!

I would like to hunt either the Clearwater Region first, or the Southwest Region. I am just beginning to do my research, and would like any advice I could get on a do-it-yourself trip for two to these areas.

My buddy and I are both fairly young and in very good shape, and want a place we can hike in a ways to camp and hunt. I know that nobody wants to give away there best places and wouldn't ask you too, but if you could point us towards some decent elk country we would be tickled to death.

Were looking to hunt in either 2009 or 2010 if possible, so if we need to apply for preference points for a given area we would need to get started next year.

Thanks - Brian

There are non-resident elk, deer & bear tags available over the counter with a cap on total sales. The "draw" hunts are, for now, purely random-no preference points.

The thing with elk in Idaho is you can hunt archery, rifle or blackpowder, cows only, spikes only, antlered only. Backcountry, "roaded" areas, etc. You also have to pick your unit, and then pick your tag-A or B. A tags usually offer more opportunity for archery hunts with cow hunts for muzz/rifle. B tags usually limit archery but allow antlered hunting with a rifle.

You really need to get an idea of the type of country (desert, mtns, backcountry, etc) you want to hunt, and then what type of weapon, and if you are looking for "any elk" or want a branch antlered bull. You narrow it down a bit and you will get some more specific advice.

Thanks for your response!

We would be looking to hunt branch antlered bulls with either rifle or muzzleoader, whichever would put us in the better area.