Cross loading cross reference?

Bullshot

I’m a novice at reloading but have been nervous about resizing brass across different head stamps as I own a number of similar rifles and want to minimize opportunity for mistakes. Has anyone ever created a cross reference for which cartridges will chamber and fire in another gun? Many people probably have examples of this off-hand in their head for at least a few calibers, but I am saying, has anyone attempted a true cross-reference of popular calibers?

And now for a second question, has anyone ever (that they would admit) actually fired the wrong round? And what happened?

I once cross docked a 6.5 CM into a 7mm 08 (did not fire) and a 7mm 08 into a creed (did not chamber) on the same day after slipping a round each into the wrong boxes. Scared the pants off me when I caught it and still does.

Manufacturers have tried to make most cartridges some what idiot proof. They cannot stop everything. Many cases will fit in other chambers. I think this is why it is highly suggestible to only have one gun and one box of ammo on the bench at a time. I often time take two guns to the range so one can cool while I shoot the other one. I tried to load a 257 wby in a 300 wm. Just about to force it when the "you idiot" sensor went off. Unlike the common saying "if it doesn't fit, do not force it" Nothing beats paying attention. Mistakes in reloading can be very serious. Buy separate cases for each caliber and label them appropriately. I read in a Ron Spomer article that he had shot the wrong round through a tighter bore and luckily didn't have a catastrophe.

There aren't too many I'd worry about, the big one is 300blk into .223/5.56, that can easily close into battery and be set off really making a big mess.

The only one that I may mix up is a 243 into my 6mm rem.
It would not hurt anything other than mess up a good brass.
It could happen to a lot like a 3006 in a Whelen or a 25/06 in a 30/06
or a 7mm STM in to my 8mmrem mag. ext.