Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

Coonhound beginner

RyeGuy74

I've always wanted to get a coonhound and get into hunting with them so I was just wondering if hunting with hounds is one of those things you have to be raised up doing or if it is something with time anyone could do it? Also from everything I've read online about different hounds it seems they are all pretty much the same as far as energy level and being kind of stubborn. Is there a breed that would be better for a beginner like me? I've owned dogs all of my life, just never a coonhound

I’ve never been a dog hunter until I bought my cur a couple months ago. It definitely helps if you know a person or two you can ask for advice. I think anyone can get into it as long as you’re committed to the dog.

As for breeds I’m not an expert. But I can say what another coon hunted has told me. He use to run blue ticks back when there was more woods to hunt. They’re a breed you cut loose and they ain’t stopping until the tree. He now hunts American leopard hounds. Not going to run out of the country, and have a better handle on them then other hounds. His older dog now can be hot on a tree and in 1 command leave the tree and go straight to the truck. But I’m sure a lot of that has to do with a lifetime of running hounds too.

I have some mix breed hounds which I use for lions.

Have you ever had JUST ONE tater chip? Neither have I.

For hunting, I like at least two dogs, even when coon hunting. A boar coon can ruin a single hound's day.

I was never around them growing up. I got into them 15 years ago.

Prepare the following...

Ling nights looking for a dog. A GPS system will (and has for me) cuts the search time down tremendously.

Vet bills. If your check book is fat, they will find a way to make it thin.

You need a good dog box. Either build one or find a good one.