MTNTOUGH - Use promo code RANDY for 30 days free

Big Sandy Wildlife Area in San Miguel, CA.

Para1911A1

Anyone here ever hunt Quail on Big Sandy? I am new to hunting, thought Quail would be a good place to start. Would love any advice on where to start. What gear to get. I currently have a Winchester 1300 pump in 12 ga. & 100 rounds of 1 oz. #7 steel. I have reloaded most popular calibers for 20+ years. Not new to shooting, just hunting.

I've never hunted there, but based on the pictures, it's definitely could have quail. Water and cover are key for them to survive. Also bird hunting is a great way to jump start your hunting career! Everyone always has a different opinion so I don't want to be that guy, but if you can find #6 shot that would be even better. You can kill a lot of quail with #7, don't get me wrong, but since it's all steel now, a little larger shot helps if you can find it.

I've never hunted there, but based on the pictures, it's definitely could have quail. Water and cover are key for them to survive. Also bird hunting is a great way to jump start your hunting career! Everyone always has a different opinion so I don't want to be that guy, but if you can find #6 shot that would be even better. You can kill a lot of quail with #7, don't get me wrong, but since it's all steel now, a little larger shot helps if you can find it.
GREAT INFO!!! Thanks!!!