Sitka Gear Turkey Tool Belt

Are solid copper bullets considered to be FMJ for hunting purposes?

I doubt anyone would classify that as jacketed in any way. From what I understand, some states require the projectile to be of an expanding design so some heavy solids would obviously not meet that criteria. Otherwise, I think that would be fine for the non-FMJ requirement.

UPDATE: I spoke with a conservation officer in KY on the phone, and he admitted he was stumped regarding the question. I sent him the manufacturers information (links) and he got back with me: "I’m not a gun expert but I would say those are fine to hunt with." So at least I've got it in writing now should any questions come up.

I believe the intent is almost always that fmj aren't allowed since they don't expand at all.

All copper bullets are still designed to expand so they are fine to use. I looked at your bullet you linked but couldn't see much about it. Hard to tell if it's designed to expand or not. Not a ttsx like I use so not the most help I know

Those are non-expanding “Tumble Upon Impact” solid copper projectiles. FMJ’s are non-expanding lead core, copper jacketed projectiles, which also happen to tumble upon impact. It sounds like you’d be okay from a law enforcement / game warden perspective since they’re also confused, and I’m sure they’ll kill a deer, but personally I’d be shooting some type of expanding projectile on a deer.

I looked at those as well. They seem to have no expansion capabilities. I would look for something from another manufacturer which is a hollow-point design if you want an "All Copper" bullet, not necessarily "Solid Copper" or "Non-Expanding." I would say they match the description closer to that of FMJ rather than not due to the design.