What would you cook for 20 people?

seigeto

Hey everyone,

I'm a new wild game cook and I have an upcoming dinner party for 16-18 folks. I have deer in the freezer and was wanting to give them some wild game. Wondering what you'd recommend I cook for them. None of them are hunters, and few will have had venison in the past.

Thanks,
CJ

I would do one of Hank Shaw's venison meatball recipes as an appetizer. Far too many people turn up their noses at venison because they're used to only eating beef, chicken and pork for me to waste huge amounts of venison as a main dish for 18 people who I'm not sure will like it.

My wife works with college student's and for several years during the winter months, we would have 10 to 20 students over for Taco Tuesdays. Easy to make, never had a complaint, and seldom had leftovers.

In similar situations, we've done a selection of 'apps' - easier for people to sample without committing to a full portion.

- Meatballs as pointed out above (we did Swedish last year for Thanksgiving and it was a hit)
- 'Carpaccio' of loin or tenderloin (instead of Raw we do a hot fast sear with carpaccio-esque seasonings/pine nut crusted and then slice paper thin)
- Pastrami or some other cured style (good for back ham roasts)

extremely easy(10min of prep) and delicious

I do a dinner party every year with usually 20-30 people. One year I did street tacos with 3 different types of meat, traditional ground meat (antelope), spicy shredded elk (venison would work), pork al pastor (for the handful that wouldn't try game). I also put out a charcuterie plate with wild game summer sausage, pastrami and/or corned venison along with different cheeses. Have fun with it. I'm happy to share any recipes if interested. I like the pot of chili idea too, I am planning to to that this year.