Ollin Magnetic Digiscoping System

Training older dog

RyeGuy74

I understand that training a puppy something is always easier than trying to train an older dog that has his own way of doing things. But do you guys, and ladies, think it'd be worth the time and energy to try to train a middle aged dog to hunt birds?

What is the breed, and bloodlines? If it's a hunting dog with bred hunting instinct, this is doable. However, you're wasting your time if you've got genetics stacked against you.

Most dogs like to please you. Especially if it is a submissive dog already. They enjoy being praised for doing a good job. For some reason, it is easier to train a dog to do something, than it is to train one to not do something...

Absolutely! I've been in the process of doing just that the last 2 years. I'm a below average trainer at best. My Chocolate Lab is 5 years old and this is his second season. He has a great bloodline, but is basically a rescue dog. He did not hunt until he was 4 years old. He now retrieves ducks (that he sees) and loves pheasants. Interesting thing about my dog- he does not like to retrieve dummies or even tennis balls. He has a low retrieving drive. He loves birds, though!