Sitka Gear Turkey Tool Belt

Tag of a lifetime

montanza

Well I rarely post here but I read constantly, so figured it's about time. I have been talking with a few hunters about tags across the country that should always be applied for. Like the Montana breaks sheep tag. I have only applied for Montana tags so I was wondering: what tag or tags would you apply for? Arizona elk tags, desert big horn? Does anyone have any suggestions? I really enjoy seeing new country, and any kind of hunt Interests me. I am still in my 20s so I have a long time to wait for a tag and I would like to get started early.

Most of the really great tags are now impossible to draw due to point creep

I would really like to do a sheep hunt. I don't really have a preference where, but I am a Colorado resident so my wait time would be a bit shorter here (I'd hope). I also think it would be cool to do a mountain goat hunt in the high country of Wyoming or Idaho. Not sure if that one will ever happen - I'll keep dreaming..

The best tag is the one you want. Figure out what you want to hunt and how much you can afford in application fees and start strategizing how to make it happen.

Keep in mind that in some cases such as mountain goat, it may be cheaper in the long run to save your money and go on a guided hunt in AK or B.C.

Statistically speaking, drawing a NR bighorn sheep tag in your lifetime is not guaranteed or even probable. With that being said, only those who apply will draw, so apply for as many as you can afford.

If you are a resident, odds increase dramatically.

Personally, I've found that I have way more cool hunts available OTC and with easy to draw tags than I can ever hunt in my lifetime.