Salt Lake City, Utah New Hunter

Simon_Jiron

Hi Guys! I am a 26 year-old Utah resident and have always wanted to go hunting. I grew up around guns and in boy scouts but never got the opportunity to stalk and hunt. It would be awesome to find a group close to me and to be able to learn the ropes to elk and deer hunt. I know that is more wishful thinking but I still want to try and learn all I can from this community!

Welcome to HuntTalk

Couple of things to do up front......

complete hunters safety training

get familiar with your weapon(s) of choice----target practice on paper or clay before living creatures

devour the rules/regulations of any hunt you may undertake--failure to follow the law is $$painful, dangerous

take advantage of the information highway--youtube, books, seminars (Elk Hunting University as an example)

Welcome to HuntTalk

Couple of things to do up front......

complete hunters safety training

get familiar with your weapon(s) of choice----target practice on paper or clay before living creatures

devour the rules/regulations of any hunt you may undertake--failure to follow the law is $$painful, dangerous

take advantage of the information highway--youtube, books, seminars (Elk Hunting University as an example)

Really good advice from @kansasdad. There is a local Lion's Club gun range in Bountiful that you can join and the DNR and Cabelas often have seminars/events that help with the learning curve. Check out their calendars and feel free to shoot an occasional PM my way if you have questions.

Hi Guys! I am a 26 year-old Utah resident and have always wanted to go hunting. I grew up around guns and in boy scouts but never got the opportunity to stalk and hunt. It would be awesome to find a group close to me and to be able to learn the ropes to elk and deer hunt. I know that is more wishful thinking but I still want to try and learn all I can from this community!
Welcome from CO.