MTNTOUGH - Use promo code RANDY for 30 days free

Rifle and scope advice

RyanH

I am looking for some advice on a hunting rife and scope. I hunt in Oregon, and the only animal I am using a rifle for is black bear. I archery hunt everything else. I really don't know much about rifles but from the few people I have talked to in leaning toward a 300 win mag or 338. I want to be able to shoot from 100 to 500 yards max with most shots in the 200 yard range. I want a good scope too, I have used one with yardage bubbles but not sure I'm sold on them. I really liked my 17hmr scope that I dialed the yardage on the top, but I'm a rookie so I don't even know if they make something like that for these calibers. Any advice is much appreciated. Thank you

#1 If you like magnums like the 300 + 338, then go for it, but they are not necessary for black bears. A .308 or 30-06 will do just fine.

#2 your budget will determine what rifle and scope to look at.
What ever your budget, buy a quality rifle. Howa is a sponsor of this site, and make fine rifles at a very reasonable cost. Remington 700, Winchester 70, Ruger 77 and Tikas are all well made rifles.

#3 Absolute buy the best scope you can. A good benchmark for hunting scopes is the Leupold VX-2, they are available with CDS (dial the yardage)

#4 Wood stocks and blue steel guns look a lot better, but stainless guns with synthetic stocks will handle the weather a lot better. It’s a lot easier to make a SS/Syn gun look better than it is to weather proof a Blue/wood gun.

#5 Consider the weight of your gun scope combo. The older and fatter I get, the more I like light weight guns.