PEAX Equipment

OTC Mule deer in AZ

GarrisonL

I am new to this thread as well as new to western hunting. I’m just 20 years old but I’ve hunted white tails in Texas all my life. I am trying to gather information to go on a mule deer hunt next year. August-September or the pre rut of 2020. My main question for today is about location. From what I understand with the AZ otc tag the southern part of the state is pretty much fair game. I’m not asking anyone to give up their honey hole but my concern is : when looking at digital maps and things like that, where’s a good place to start to narrow down an area . Since this is my first time going out west I’m not nescessarily looking to kill a gian even though the possibility of that is always nice. I’m more so looking for a place to get my feet wet where maybe I can see a large quantity of deer.
if you would Like to contact me directly that’s fine too. [email protected] or 2106011260

Look at AZGFD for which units are OTC and in which months. Some units are Aug/Sep and others Dec and/or Jan. Coues whitetail will be in mountains, primarily in southern part of the state. Mulies are across the state from desert to high country.

Look for food and water. OTC is low success but still a great opportunity. Javelina draw is coming up in early Oct. Put in for a January tag and double your hunt.

Get a copy of Deer of the Southwest by Jim Heffelfinger. Great book on understanding desert deer.

Those August hunts are hot and brutal. Water is king until the monsoons start up and disperse the deer again. I’d suggest a coues hunt in January. The weather is more enjoyable, plus it’s the rut the action is better for spot and stock