NM Elk Unit 16C Hunt

trailrider121

Well guys I finally drew a New Mexico Elk bull tag in Unit 16C October 16-20th. Been applying for some time now, and it happened. Now this is my first elk bull hunt, and super pumped to do this hunt in unit 16C. I did a cow elk hunt last year in Wyoming with a party and it was blast. I'm a rookie at elk hunting, so this adventure will interesting. I've never hunted New Mexico before and been searching the web for ideas of the area. I'm posting here for some guidance in the area, maybe good places to camp, general info of the area, etc... Onx shows good data in the lower portion of the unit, and finding watering holes is key. I plan to camp out in a wall tent and hike around looking for elk. Any help would greatly appreciated, thanks..

ND_Hooligan

The best advice I can give you is get out before season to do some scouting to get the lay of the land which will be invaluable during the season. South of the highway that intersects the unit is much more rugged and secluded and will produce many more sanctuary areas than the northern half. The northern half has roads throughout it and from my experience was much more crowded with hunters because of the ease of access. As far as camping I would suggest setting up near the Beaverhead ranger station as it is about as centrally located as anywhere when it comes to accessing the whole unit. There is a campground over by Black Mountain but both times I've been to 16C it has been crawling with people. Good luck on your hunt and please post reports when you are done.

trailrider121