Caribou Gear

Never been so frustrated shooting before

huntin24/7

So I spent every chance I could this summer shooting my new rem 700 AWR topped with a leupold vx3 4.5-14 after Remington spent a month fixing It’s from the factory broken extractor. I eventually developed a load that’s consistently 3/4” or less at 100 and less than 2” at 200 yds. Today with the cool weather and light wind, I started shooting it from 300-500 yds. With a solid steady rest and every shot squeezed off just right, my groups started expanding more than they should, became inconsistent(except they did seem to start pushing to the right as I got out further. I’m not pretending to be a sniper, but I do shoot a rifle well and have good trigger control. I’m at a loss and frustrated. I went home and cleaned the barrel since it had been a while but that didn’t seem to matter. Shooting 168 Berger’s in 7mm. Any ideas? I’ve been shooting a rifle for a long time and can’t figure out what the hell is going on.

How long did you let the rifle sit between shots?

Any chance it could be a scope/mount issue?

What were you shooting off?
Did you adjust parallax?
Scope level? Rifle canted?
How was mirage? Wind consistent or changing?
There are a number of other factors that could have affected your groups also.

I let the barrel cool pretty good. Only shot one or 2 shots at a time and then about a 5 minute break. Thought about the scope mount setup but it’s been shooting so well at 200 or less. I guess it’s possible though.

What were you shooting off?
Did you adjust parallax?
Scope level? Rifle canted?
How was mirage? Wind consistent or changing?
There are a number of other factors that could have affected your groups also.