Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

Montana Bear Hunt, Spring 2016

elk_hunter

Well, better late than never to recap this hunt - got caught up in work and summer activities with the kiddos plus school has kicked off again so before I head out for archery elk shortly, I figured I ought to squeeze in the thread.

Every time I think about or look at pictures/videos from this hunt, it puts a big grin on my face. The memories and stories to tell are forever etched in my mind. While some stories may be hard to believe, others wouldn’t cause anyone to blink twice. But such is what plays out with our outdoor adventures and what we bring back with us. This bear hunt, replayed in my mind again and again, continues to leave me in awe and my head shaking.

I am new to bear hunting and this was only my 2nd time hunting them. Honestly, the bulk of the story is a result of my best buddy who lives there in Montana and helped me with maps and spots to hike and glass. He really surprised me by taking time off his crazy work schedule to personally take me places that held bears in an effort to get me my first one. That dedication and commitment to see my success is an amazing gift. There aren’t many hunters or friends nowadays who connect you with hot spots that hold animals. I am forever grateful and hope someday I can repay that to him. Though, that is highly unlikely as this guy is so incredibly accomplished, he has already killed more animals than I ever will. But! I will do my best to pay back when the time comes!