Montana 2023

tillicant

Looking for just some basic info. Wife & I are talking about a Montana vacation/hunt in 2023.
Have hunted Co numerous times, not too often we hunt the same place twice, just too much to see.
Looking at an area NE of Hamilton. I'm new to the application process in Montana but would like to apply for a combo, we're more into the meat than the antlers. We try to come up with a cabin rental close to a public area, can't get the wife to camp, not sure if it would be good for my old bones anyhow.
The area I just picked off of google maps. Wife is squeamish when the word Grizzly comes up, don't want to ruin a vacation by taking her to an area that she is uncomfortable in.
Any feedback would be appreciated.

Best advice currently is to wait for the hunting regulations issues to be sorted out and new regs printed; then study them and ask questions of Montana FWP and here.

The grizzly bear phobia is greatly hyped and I (as a lifelong senior citizen hunter) would bet you never even see one unless you travel through Glacier NP. You are more likely to be threatened by a Bitterroot Valley wannabe militia man than a bear!

Area is permit only for mule deer. Grizzlies have been spotted, but rare. Lots of lions though. Not exactly an elk hunting hot spot. mtmuley

Director Worsech believes no one has time to read. Shoot what you want, whenever you want.
This isn't really helpful and patently false.

There are resident grizzlies just north and east of the Bitterroot. There are also transient grizzlies throughout, so there is the possibility of seeing them, but very low. Access will be your biggest challenge, closely followed by hunting pressure. The elk will be up high during archery, but will be in the valley floors by first week of rifle. This seems like an obvious piece of information, but helpful if you don't know the area. Definitely pick up a wolf tag since they are increasing over here.

This isn't really helpful and patently false.