How to practice shooting game?

bencarter

(Not sure where to put this thread as there is no "skills" forum)

I'm new to hunting with a rifle and taking shots at rifle distances. Prior to moving to Utah (I'm from Virginia) the longest shot I ever took was easily less than 50 yards and had only hunted from a tree stand with a bow. Last elk season I messed up a shot on an elk at 315 yards. Completely missed him. A number of factors are to blame for that, primarily myself. I could not calm myself down enough to take steady aim (hiking up to 10,000 feet did not help that much) even with my rifle across my hunting pack.

What do you do to practice shots like that so you can make them under pressure?

Reactions: Guy
Practice,Practice'Practice.Only take shots that you feel comfortable with.
If 350yds is too much then pass and try to get closer.I sight my Rifle 3in over
at 100yds/dead on at 200yds/3in. low at 300yds. after that no shots taken.
Good luck,have fun and Givem" H3ll! 😎

You need to get good enough at the fundamentals so they are automatic under stress. Position, breathing, trigger press (most important).

Practice at getting good at each of these individually, and then you will see things get easier under pressure.

Best practice I have ever seen is going prairie dog hunting.

You will get used to acquiring game, ranging, cycling the bolt, etc... A bolt action 22, 17, or 223 is great for this and as mentioned things will get automatic under pressure.

I agree with the fundamentals and practice.

I've seen people that aren't really that great shooting off a bench, but are very good at holding things together on game and rarely miss an animal.

I've seen people that are scary good off the bench, but cant hold their chit together on animals.

Seen some that are scary good off the bench, and equally scary on game...those types make it tough on game, both near and far. Almost isn't even fair.