Use Promo Code Randy for 20% off OutdoorClass

Hard To Reach Water E-Scouting

hammer3332

Hey all,

I am from the Midwest and primarily hunt whitetails (shocker). I have been on one 6 day 3rd season rifle elk hunt in Colorado with a buddy and we were “early” or in lower elevations. Didn’t see an elk until the last day, and didn’t harvest anything. We are now planning an OTC archery hunt and have some areas picked out. It looks like where we will be hunting is pretty dry so far this year. Since I am unable to get boots on the ground, how do you e-scout for hard to reach water sources? Do you look at elevation gain and loss? Do you look at slope and distance? How far off of a trail is hard to reach? I have limited experience with topo maps in mountain country, so trying to get a barometer on sucky terrain vs easy terrain.

Thanks in advance!

In mountains look for Green fans from springs coming out of the mountainsides on Google Earth. Especially in the desert, Springs will be identified on BLM, USFS maps and ON-X.

Another source is North Slope snowbanks. Usually gone by Hunting season though.

An elk is going to need 5-8 gallons of water a day and will travel 3 miles to get it in open country. Usually after dark. They will hit little seeps in heavy cover at midday though.

If it is a reliable water source there will be well worn trails to it.

Our last trip to 86 was super dry. On fire in Salida even. But if you follow a marked creek you should find where it finally pops out. Where we were hunting we found surface water at like 8000ft an it was thick. But lots of sign from lots of critters. Some of the creeks out of high counrty lakes were even dry looking in spots. We started working anything shady near there with food. Saw lots of deer an even bounced a bull. Its tough being patient hunting water an not just go look an see whats in the next drainage. I get bored easy.