Goose Decoy recommendations? Update

Brad W

I am looking to add 6-10 high quality floating goose decoys to my setup and looking for a recommendation. I primarily hunt small marshes and rivers in the Northeast. Our geese are heavily pressured and typically in flocks of 4-20. I lean towards the buy nice not twice mentality and take care of my stuff. The options are endless and I am a self taught waterfowl Hunter trying to get my 9 year old into more birds. I would appreciate some advice from the veteran goose hunters on here! I’m sure there are some strong opinions 😀

Imo GHG is the best bang for your buck, but there floaters are HEAVY! If money is no issue then go with Avian-x definitely. Also if weight or bulk is an issue I'd recommend buying some lesser decoys to help with that. One other thing when setting your dekes put your geese downwind of your ducks.

Thanks Nick. I had not heard the geese down wind of the ducks. Makes a lot of sense though. I assume the real ducks would freak out if the geese flew over their heads.

Thanks Nick. I had not heard the geese down wind of the ducks. Makes a lot of sense though. I assume the real ducks would freak out if the geese flew over their heads.
Well it just seems like ducks don't mind dropping in over the geese but the geese don't prefer to land over the ducks at least this has been my experience.

Oh yeah. He’s got the passion. Shot his first duck last year (8 years old)with a little 410 and he’s been talking about this season since Christmas. Crazy part was when an eagle came to steal his bird. We were shouting and high fiving when I saw the eagle heading straight for the bird. You’ve never seen a grown man hurdle/fall over a gunwale so fast! I was wading through the marsh waving my hands and yelling like a madman. The eagle reconsidered and banked off. Just made the story that much better 😂C3F91F3A-9491-4147-82A3-F66BE254610E.jpeg