PEAX Equipment

Gear question

Preach

Hello,
I’m new to HT and this is my first post. I’m an easterner from NC that has only hunted whitetail from stands. Well, my son moved to Livingston, MT two years ago and being an avid outdoorsman began hunting big game out there. So this year I applied for a combination license and drew a tag. I’m really thankful because I miss hunting with him. We will be hunting public land near Pray in mid-November. Here’s my question and there may be others that follow. We plan on hiking several miles each day to hunt. I’m considering buying a new pair of boots I have a pair of un-insulated Oboz hiking boots. Should I just stick with those or purchase something with some insulation like 400 gram? I’m considering the Danner Pronghorn. Thanks in advance for your input. Robert

Welcome to HT from someone who resides in Livingston, your son is just as lucky as I am to live in the best part of MT.

Personally I would be looking for something a little stiffer, something in a MTN style boot like Kenetrek, Crispi, Schnees, etc. The stiffer boot makes for easier ascents, less fatigue, things you may not notice in a lesser boot, until you wear a pair. These boots will set you back $350-$500.

Having said that, my dad has been out here hunting a couple times and loves his Danner Pronghorns. It really comes down to how much/how often you plan to come out, how hard you can or will hunt. My dad doesn’t feel it’s necessary to invest in the boots for the few times he’ll need them.

As far as insulation, I don’t find it to be a need on an active hunt; you can adjust for temperatures with various weights of wool socks. Around here, the best hunting comes with really crappy weather, so I would have something good and waterproof, a pair of gaiters for the snow, and most importantly the boots need to fit you and be broken in before the hunt.

I’ve elk hunted in everything from running shoes to Muck boots, but prefer a stiff MTN boot for my daily drivers.