Gaining Points??

kellerdairyhunter

So I am a college student that is about to graduate college in the fall, what state would you recommend me to start gaining points if I want a good elk hunt within the next 5-10 years with either bow, muzzleloader, or rifle?

Don't.

Buy an over the counter tag and go elk hunting this year or next. Get some elk hunts under your belt, then worry about building points.

Wyoming would be the only state in my opinion that you will gain the points in that short time period for actually better hunting. OTC in Colorado is always fun!

Just avoid Utah and their garbage odds that are getting worse. Nevada is bad too. I'd listen to Newberg's material on this. He knows it as well as anyone. ElkTalkLive and the individual state videos.

AZ for elk but also put in for other species. You will be able to draw a decent archery elk tag in a decade but could be first year since have chance at random tag. In a decade is likely you can draw a December (early rut phase) Coues whitetail tag and this may be the most challenging mental hunt in the West.

Any other state is a crap shoot and, to be truthful, so is AZ. Cost will go up faster than inflation and tag allocation for non-residents is likely to fall compared to resident pool.

I would try NM as is a relatively cheap date at lottery odds where you are in the same crappy boat as a non-resident applicant that has been applying for decades.

After AZ and NM, the pickings get thin if only looking at a 10 year window. I would put UT next since they have some tags that go in random pass but you will not get enough points in 10 years to draw a great tag and if you do hit the lottery and get a great tag in the random then get ready for encountering false "private road" signs and hunters with 20 of their closest friends out zooming along on ATVs trying to get an elk.