Caribou Gear Tarp

Florida Swamp Lizards

KayakMacGyver

Hunting season kicks off every year in mid to late August with Alligators for our family here in Florida. My wife and I have been hunting them for around 12 years and feel like we hit our groove about 3 years ago. A friend and I drew some great tags this year and had early success on the first weekend (8/23). Friday night we set out with high expectations and were ultra conservative in our size evaluation. We passed on what we thought were several 9-10 footers, holding out for a 10.5 foot or bigger. In hindsight, I think we passed up some 11 footers on Friday night as it takes some time to shake the cobwebs off your binos and become accurate in your estimates. Storms drove us off the water early on Friday night, but we had a game plan to get up early Saturday morning and hunt until the end of legal time @ 10AM.

Scenic.jpg

We got on the water at 5:30AM Saturday morning and immediately started seeing plenty of gators. It took some time, but at 8:30 we located a couple of solid candidates that we wanted to go after and started our stalk. I was able to get within the magic bubble of the closest gator before it submerged. Made a good cast with the snatch hook and came tight. Hooked up! 30 minutes later we had our first swamp lizard of 2019 in the boat, a 10'8.

The team quickly regathered and to our delight the second gator, which looked equally as large or larger, hadn’t gone far. We made our approach and after a little cat and mouse I was able to make a cast. The snatch hook found its mark and we were hooked up again. The fight lasted a little over 30 minutes and we were able to finish the deal about 10 minutes before legal hunting hours finished. The second gator went 10’10.

Both in the boat:

10'8 and 10'10.jpg

At the house:

10'8and10'10.jpg