PEAX Equipment

Cow elk question

undercover

How would a herd of cow elk typically evade pressure from a hunter or predator? Meaning are they similar to whitetail that will most often use upwind and cross wind after being disturbed. More time than not the deer I typically hunt will retreat to the general area that they came from but use there nose as a guide cutting the wind, and if they scent something again they will adjust. So here’s my thought: if I come across a group of hunters making a run at a herd of cows do I hang back and watch it unfold and then make my play or do I make a calculated play to where I think that herd will retreat to! I understand elk do what they do and theN there is the elk marathon even tho I’m a newbie and have never witnessed it. This is type 6 or 7 tag in relatively open country late November, December, january hunt. There must some law of high averages when it comes to elk and evading pressure. But maybe I’m not even in the parking lot of the ball park!

thanks in advance

Brian aka undercover

Last edited:
I would say your on the right track. But at the same time there is really no general rule when it comes to elk. They react to pressure and you are in their back yard. Sometimes they will go back where they came from, but if they think another way is better they will go there.

I've seen a group of cows forego using a nice, open saddle and run straight up what I thought was a cliff. They seem to follow the same routes to an extent, but pressure sends them in all different directions. They also know where they get shot at and where they don't, and I've seen 300 head hold up on a farmers field all day, not moving until well after shooting light. That's why they are so fun to hunt.