Save $100 on the Leupold VX-3HD

Bankrupt Gun Maker Remington Outdoor to be Broken Up and Sold

I'd red this news elsewhere. It gives me a sad. I have long been a Remington fan and own 3 700s and an old 600. In my experience they've been the most accurate and trouble-free factory guns I've used over the years, although I realize that has not been everyone's experience with them.

After seeing this yesterday, I went ahead and ordered a stainless 700 long-action receiver. I have a box of other components I've been gathering to build another bolt gun. I figured I should go ahead and grab one before they become scarce, or something.

I have been shooting a 700 30-06 for years. No regrets. If the one I have been shooting now for over 20 years goes down, I will buy another one in a heart beat.

Sad to see. I have an 870 Wingmaster Magnum that I bought in the early '70s with a summer's worth of bale pitching. I have a 700 in .300 Win Mag built around 1963 ... a gift from my father's best hunting buddy who can't use it anymore. Tough time to be in a firearm manufacture business.

Some interesting information here. Could be a lot worse

I'll take it off your hands....need an address?

Fixing that issue is about as complicated as hitting a warm piece of toast with a knife full of butter.
It was already fixed by Remington. Shoots fine, just never earned my trust again after that debacle. They were a great manufacturer that went downhill after getting bought out by a bunch of accountants and pencil pushers.

The quality had suffered the last years but they made millions of great guns. I have an 870 that I bought in 1977 that still looks and handles great. A newer 870 Express I scoped and use as a dedicated deer gun for shotgun areas not nearly as nicely finished as the older one but functions fine. Also a 1977 700 in 270 and a 1998 7600 in 30-06. Both good shooters. Sad to see it broken up.