Archery ELK Hunt 2017 Advice on where to go??

jimmyk

So I am in a quandary on where to go this fall and I know deadlines will soon be hitting..... A buddy and I are both active duty and have plans on heading west this fall. I have 10 pts in AZ, but even with a party tag it is doubtful that is enough to get a tag, and honestly, I want to buy a few more before trying my luck AND want to get more experience to take advantage of the tag when I do get drawn. I only have 1 pt in WY so I doubt I have a chance with anything there even if I did the special draw.

I have limited experience with ELK, I called some in while mule deer hunting when I was a resident of Arizona, but obviously couldn't shoot anything. In 2012 after returning from Afghanistan I did a guided hunt in Montana and was successful-my wife surprised me with that. Now I have 4 kids and with saving for retirement and college, I can't spend that kind of money at this point, not to mention, I want the satisfaction of DIY. I actually ended up calling in 4 bulls on my own due to my guide being pinned down a couple hundred yards behind me, a small herd moved in on him before he could move down to my location.

I plan on trying my luck in NM, but odds are slim as we all know. Next would be MT, and last choice is OTC Colorado. We will apply to KY and PA, but odds are very slim there as well.

Thanks for any advice.

Thanks for your service Jimmy!

Where do you live? I think you're on the right track. If you haven't archery hunted much, I would definitely hold on to your AZ points until you get some more archery experience. I would do at least 2-3 weeklong archery hunts before I'd burn those AZ points so that you have some experience like you mentioned.