Use Promo Code Randy for 20% off OutdoorClass

Any experience with ground jerky sticks?

• Thread starter Deleted member 38069
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 38069

My Father in law bought me a jerky gun and I'm looking to break it in. Now I'm usually a whole muscle thinly sliced guy. I'm new to the ground meat approach. Doesn't seem too complex but I would appreciate some pointers!

Boomer

I love doing mine with the ground meat. My gun has 2 attachments, thin/flat and a snack stick size. I did a few batches of thin strips, which were pretty good, but my last batch I did the snack stick with no casings and they were a huge hit. That’s all I’ll do from now on. I buy a LEM jerky kit for 5lbs of burger, which ends up fitting perfect on racks in my Traeger. Set it at 180 for 5-6 hours and you’re done.

I love doing mine with the ground meat. My gun has 2 attachments, thin/flat and a snack stick size. I did a few batches of thin strips, which were pretty good, but my last batch I did the snack stick with no casings and they were a huge hit. That’s all I’ll do from now on. I buy a LEM jerky kit for 5lbs of burger, which ends up fitting perfect on racks in my Traeger. Set it at 180 for 5-6 hours and you’re done.
Thanks. I have both attachments as well. I prefer the snack stick style. I'll give it a try.

I'll do mine with ground 4 out of 5 times these days. It's just too quick and easy.
And still so delicious...

I have dried it the same day as mixing, but I prefer to let it sit in fridge overnight and mix a few different times before drying. I think you get a more consistent flavor throughout.

I'll do mine with ground 4 out of 5 times these days. It's just too quick and easy.
And still so delicious...

I have dried it the same day as mixing, but I prefer to let it sit in fridge overnight and mix a few different times before drying. I think you get a more consistent flavor throughout.
I like this idea. Thanks, Festus!

Let me know if you need a pro staffer.