MTNTOUGH - Use promo code RANDY for 30 days free

An unusual visitor to my shop. 🐺

geetar

I work in the automotive repair business. A customer brought her pet wolf by. She has raised it since it was a puppy. It’s a gray / timber cross. I know the problems surrounding wolves today and I totally understand some people who hate them because of the damage they cause to elk herds but all that aside it’s hard to not admit they are a neat animal. 26A6F6F2-5753-4947-AE1C-DACDE7D1EC53.jpeg

I have an uncle that had a pet wolf. He loved it and I understand that as it was a pet and was beautiful. He is now part of the wolves are awesome" crowd. There are 2 problems with wolves as pets (and being out and about)....1) Even though they may seem "tame" they are still wild animals at heart and present an unpredictable danger and 2) Their presence as "sweet pets" romanticizes them to a degree where folks refuse to accept the reality of what they are...effective, voracious predators and killers.

Wolves are not inherently evil, BUT, they are dangerous wild animals who should be treated accordingly.

Wolves are not inherently evil, BUT, they are dangerous wild animals who should be treated accordingly.
Good point. Ever hear "hungry as a wolf"? Hunger and pack mentality drive the predator instinct ... plus the pack can quickly be overcome with the bloodlust mentality.

Yeah I'm not for pet wild animals, aside from disneyfying them (which I think is bad in the case of wolves) and the real danger of wild animals as pets. The other thing to consider is that you're taking the wild out of the animals, which to me is the very thing I love about them so by taming them your taking the best out of them.

My sister inlaw just stayed at some place in Kenya where there are pet giraffe's that you have breakfast with and feed etc. My wife and I are thinking about going to Africa next year and I said if I want a giraffe or any animal experience I'm going to find a proper wild animals.