Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

.280 Remington primer question...

Knight.54

On the shores of the Graveyard of the Atlantic
So I’ve had a .280 for a while.
I’ve been reloading for a while but was just doing a ballistic tip in 120-140 for coyotes, eastern whitetails(small)...
I’ve recently acquired a 2nd hand custom 700 with a heavier 24” barrel and have been messing around with some longer range, heavier stuff. I have a vari-x 6 CDS on the way,
I have some buddies that are doing some legit long range target stuff in .280.
I figured this will be more of a hunting rifle for me... I am loading some eld x 175s and Berger 168s right now — my question is...

Does anybody use magnum primers in their .280 rem?... please educate me a little about “magnum primers in non magnum rounds”...

Thanks!

Disclaimer - I am relatively new to loading.

Using what is in your load book is an easy/safe choice. But some will run magnum primers for various reasons. Some will use magnum primers in non-magnum cartridges for very cold weather hunting (less than 20f), some prefer magnums for ball powders, some prefer magnum primers for load with more than 45 or 50 grains of powder. Some have reported overlap in “power” between one vendor’s standard primer and another vendor’s magnum primer. The key is to work your loads back up if you switch primers on a recipe.

For me I tend to stick to the book recipe unless I can’t find a load that works and then I will fiddle with things. Primer changes are at the bottom of my fiddle list. YMMV.

I never have used anything but magnum primers in any rifle from .22-250-.338.

I don't think there's a need to reduce your loads either...and I'm nearly certain the whole "magnum primer" thing is more about marketing and selling shit than some huge difference between them and standard primers.

I just used them right out of the gate when I started handloading about 35 years ago, they worked, so I just kept using them.